Multi-tasking

I have been told that multi-tasking is “a way of doing multiple things badly.” While I may understand the sentiment, that putting minimal focus to certain tasks all at once rather than your whole focus into one task, I still find value in multi-tasking. For example, reading a book for class while on hold with a company is technically multi-tasking. I also engage in multi-tasking rather frequently, so it is quite hard for me to knock it, so to speak.

I find myself to be a rather competent “multi-tasker,” to create a term. I not only do multiple tasks at the same time often, but I find that I do them quite well. I may not excel in any task that I am doing, but I complete it both efficiently and sufficiently. I also find myself doing many tasks at once, in part, because I wear multiple hats at once anyway. I may be typing a paper while trying to prepare a meal for myself or doing dishes for a meal my spouse has just made for us both. I may be trying to brush my cat while carrying out a Google Hangout session with my classmates. I can also be find watching a video for class during my office hours or while waiting to start a staff meeting.

Having multiple roles in life requires multi-tasking sometimes, even if it is only internal. I may be at church as a participant in worship, but in my head processing the situation as a future leader in the faith. I also may be a pastor’s spouse, but there are times at church where I am clearly filling the role of a congregant or visitor, not the spouse of a pastor. Defining these roles or carrying out different tasks can be difficult, to be sure. That being said, I know there are times where I must clearly play one role and fulfill one task and others where I am juggling multiple roles and tasks at the same time.

While I know not everyone wants to or should multi-task, it is something that works for me. What are the areas you find yourself multi-tasking in? What roles do you play or take part in? How do you find yourself filling those roles or completeing those tasks?

Leave a comment